Understanding Nostalgia; PUNE – HYD – PUNE

This was the first time that I was staying away from my home for such a long time. For the mere purpose of garnishing my above quote, I would say that that was the first time that I would have been away from the city in which I was born and brought up. Indeed, Pune is a darling place for me. A town which has taught me everything, right from toddling to giving the confidence of hanging out without fear in any metro. For this lame reason or so, I was not at all nervous that I will be staying in a completely new city (?) Oops, I guess, I shall not term HYD as completely new coz, it being my native place. My ancestors had migrated to MH almost a century ago; so by the virtue of the fact that HYD blood still runs in my veins, I can’t term HYD as a completely new city to me.

An interesting stat popped up the day before I was gonna join Oracle. My dad said, ‘look the city has brought us back; our ancestors had also started earning their bread and butter from the same city, and now, after years together, you will also start to earn your living from the same city’. An interesting calc and observation, but the Punekar in me, shoved me back from imbibing this fact. Then, I had just regarded it as a co-incidence; obviously this might be coz of the ‘puneri’ in me; but I didn’t know what this city had kept in its secret treasure, that has now made me fall in love with it!

Day one at Oracle was challenging; with all the IITians and NITians around, kept me on the edge of my chair. Lateral hires were adding to my anxiety. Their experienced and professional talks made me a bit worried, that will I be able to sustain professionalism. But, in due course of time, I did start feeling comfortable and resting in my chair. Not to mention, my bolster in
this circumstance was an inner voice that kept on screaming, ‘Aawaj konacha….’ πŸ™‚ With a two day induction programme, my corporate life had got a kick-start. Suddenly in a matter of few days, responsibilities start putting their heads on your shoulders. The corporate world always keeps you reminding that you are out of college now. But, nonetheless, it also has many similarities. Thanks to the Campus to Corporate programme! Many of our hidden talents were showcased during the same. After those invigorating HR sessions, technical sessions were the ones that fell in line. They were very informative and flawlessly designed. And in this way continued a series of weeks with sessions on the weekdays and hangouts on weekends. Friday excitements and Monday blues are somethings that have become so very well imbibed in me now πŸ™‚

Today, I am running out of words to express my joys and sorrows for Hyderabad; truly ineffable! Now, I feel homesick, not for Pune, but for HYD. The city that has shown me so many different aspects and facets of life, the city that has introduced me to some great friends, the city that has given me the first-timers. First-timers, then it might be corporate talks to hanging out with friends, from bowling in malls to go-carting and playing in the snow and from daily morning rushes to the office to late-night hangouts on streets! Just by retrospecting, I discovered the reason of my attachment to this city; its only the fact that in all these days, reality was more beautiful than dreams, and this made all the moments so very special and dear ones.

Now, with less than two days left here, I want to live every moment that I have in this city. Right from going to the terrace of the guest house to the campus courts, from office to shopping streets. Will really miss the folks around here, the ‘laambi gaadi wale’ jokes, the pidgin chats with Manikanth, Prashant & Rajat, the short breaks with giggles at the pantry, Kwality and our food courts, the entire campus premises, the rainbow in the sky, the potato festival at the guest house, the story telling moments, the STD truthful moments, Anup’s brotherhood, Priyadarshini’s on-the-spot jokes, Yogeshwar’s determination, Nikhila’s chats about HYD, and most important of all, the chats with Prashant and Rajat; somethings that I had not even told to myself. To put in the simplest words, HYD has taught me how important it is to respect the people around you. I now understand that it is the people around you that are your real wealth!

Mumbai – Pune – Mumbai: A movie that shows Mukta’s quest for happiness. In my case, it has been Pune – HYD – Pune. No words to do enough justice to joys that I have had here, so just encapsulating, “Bandha julte he pritiche, goood naate janmantariche.”

Cheers to the Spartans and the Devils
Cheers,
Pune – HYD – Pune

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Nitin Bagul Says:

    welcome back to home:

  2. 2
    pallavi Says:

    very nice Ashwin…majja ali vachatana…keep it up…:-)

  3. 3
    colonD Says:

    khupach chaan lihilay πŸ™‚


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

